RRP

€ 353.30

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
16

4.6 based on 16 customer reviews

12
2
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Picture Quality and Excellent Sound

UBP-X800M2 09/19/2019 by Thomas 3366

I am delighted that I Bought This Blu Ray Player ok

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic player

UBP-X800M2 09/16/2019 by Cpp67

Really great player. Only thing to improve wpuld be to bring back a digital display on front of player and to make it multi region for dvds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features,but big price

UBP-X800M2 09/10/2019 by Lavonas1

I buy about 2 weeks ago,his look same like UBP-X800(I have too),same remote control(I dont like this remote,dont have a light because what I am using player in night time)only diferent interface when you using menu...If you dont have good home cinema speakers dont buy this model,because what UBP-X800 same only price about 100 pound cheaper

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Faster that the previous X800

UBP-X800M2 09/08/2019 by New800MUser

I bought this as an upgrade to my previous UBP-X800 and find the performance is a lot faster. The image quality is as brilliant as before, and the system a lot easier to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful Machine

UBP-X800M2 09/01/2019 by TeleAddict

There is so much to tell you about this player. The first thing you notice about the player is its weight. It is a proper heavy player at 3kg that’s a whopping 8lbs. The players weight may be explained by the premium chassis it uses to reduce micro vibrations. It is a full size machine and it’s width fills the shelf it’s resting on. It is however much slimmer than my old machine. One slight annoyance I find with the fixed cable and moulded UK plug. As I am using an oak tv cabinet the plug would not go through the port in the back of the unit. I would have preferred a detachable lead. That aside, Sony has done a great job of mixing materials that give the player a High end feel and appearance. I particularly like its sharp corners and rectangular shape that will integrate well with the most expensive audiophile systems and the plastics used have a metallic feel. Setup is quick and easy and mine has the latest firmware installed. I chose WI-FI connectivity over LAN and the player supports 2.4 & 5GHz. I couldn’t get WPS to work and lost patience with it.Probably finger trouble but I couldn’t get it to accept my password first go either and it connected to the adjacent router at 2.4GHZ by default when it did? The Sony boasts a myriad of hi res sound and picture specifications (not photo cd’s) in its resume. There is a dedicated HDMI sound port and with the latest Bluetooth connectivity (LDAC) works well with Bluetooth headphones. I opted for a Bluetooth speaker to pair it, this had no lip sync issues although it can be tweaked in the settings if necessary. I then tried a 5:1 sound bar via HDMI. Sound quality is excellent for both music and movies and could only be bettered had I got an Atmos setup (this is on my Christmas list). On the subject of ports aside from HDMI the only other connectivity is Coax SPDIF (for none HDMI amplifiers) with very little by way of instruction for the latter contained in the operating manual? The specifications too are a little vague. I eventually found the HDMI port is 2.0a for HDR and supports BT.2020 colour palette. The front cover hides the one and only USB port and Is horrible. I do not like this design; make proper hinges Sony! Spinning a 4k disc takes around 10 seconds to load but unlike my old player operation is totally silent perhaps due to the metal chassis. In fact the Sony is so quiet had it not been for the tiny led in the corner of the box one might be forgiven for thinking it had stopped working when not in playback mode? The remote is simplistic and matches the shape of the player with its straight lines and square angles. I particularly like the fact in can be just used! It is intuitive unlike my complex old player where I have to study every function. It has a Netflix button. Netflix is one of a very limited number of preinstalled apps on the very minimalist menu. There is also a programmable function via a heart button and the tv can be operated by the remote. My tv turns on and off when controlled by the player despite not being a Sony tv. On the subject of apps I have a number of movies stored on Sony Pictures servers, wouldn’t it be great to see a native app to play them back? Dolby Vision is breathtakingly good, although the function is not turned on by default and I think it stays on and has to be toggled off? Deep blacks and vibrant colours are eminent with no signs of artifacts, colour bleed and smooth motion without the dreaded soap opera effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony 4K x800m2

UBP-X800M2 08/30/2019 by Andyskywaker

So far so good. Good build quality, excellent picture and great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Rip Off

UBP-X800M2 08/28/2019 by JohnD25

The Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player is a good well engineered piece of kit. It is silent in operation and has played all types of discs that I own ranging form DVD's, Blu ray, 4K Blu ray, 3D Blu ray, CD's and SACD. I have some DVD audio discs but have not yet tried these. I would certainly recommend buying this player. On first switch on of the device and connecting to the Internet, it automatically updates its firmware. Once connected to your network, you can then, should you wish, stream other devices through it (I do not as I stream other devices through an AV receiver). The picture is as good as I have seen from a player. So why only three stars and a rip off. The player was advertised on Amazon sold by a third party company - TPS - and shows an accompanying 4K DVD, Bohemian Rhapsody. However it is only on receiving the player that you find you have to log into to Sony for the DVD to be sent to you. There are some terms and conditions, none of which are shown on the Amazon site and you can only see them by logging into the Sony site given on the leaflet in the player packaging. On sending away for the DVD I was returned an email from Sony stating "Thank you for sending us documents with regards to your purchase. After validation we have noticed that you have purchased from 3rd party dealer on Amazon. Based on this information your participation is unfortunately no longer valid. " This despite TPS being listed in their website where you request the DVD be sent. Whilst I did not specifically buy the player for the DVD, it certainly leaves a sour taste to the purchase which is a shame because as I stated earlier in the review, the player is a good piece of kit. So whilst I can recommend the player, be aware you might not get the accompanying DVD depending on where you purchase it. This does seem somewhat penny pinching on Sony's part, bearing in mind this is DVD costing £25 if bought separately on a DVD player costing £350.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Don't bother claiming the free blu-ray dvd.

UBP-X800M2 08/26/2019 by Anne5

I bought this product last week the build of the product is very good indeed with excellent features and easy to setup, in with the product was a offer to claim a free blu-ray movie disc i followed the instructions to claim the disc, example photos of the sales invoice and also photo of the serial number. After a few days i received a email from sony stating that i was not allowed to claim the free disc as i had purchased the brand new sony player from a third party dealer so i think the offer is misleading and a total waste of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

This is an excellent product

UBP-X800M2 08/23/2019 by Bristone

Robust chassis fantastic picture and sound with Dolby vision. Personally going to the setting to start a Dolby vision disk isn't an issue for me. The player does respond to all needs, including 3D , but then like others you stop making 3D 4k televisions for those of us who bought 3D movies in addition to 4k bluays with Dolby vision. Then, people like us are going to think twice about buying a new television . This, the X800M2, is without doubt a really top drawer player. Now let us have inclusion of 3D again on your latest TVs, so we can use it to the full.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Well engineered and high specification

UBP-X800M2 08/15/2019 by Andysmokey1

The item arrived in sturdy packaging. I would have preferred that the internal packaging was recyclable. The item was easily set-up with good documentation clear instructions. I was pleased that the unit could be connected to my network and the ability to do it wirelessly was a real bonus. The ability to connect to YouTube, Netflix and Amazon Prime is a useful addition. The menus are easy to navigate and the remote worked well. DVDs and Blue Rays played on the unit and the image and sound quality are very high. This unit is well engineered and good value considering the high specification.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A Great machine

UBP-X800M2 08/13/2019 by Thornton 1

I have been using the Sony UBP-X800M2 for a few days, I am very happy with my purchase of this machine. After switching on the Machine I was presented with a clean and simple start menu screen including the only three apps on there for Netflix ,Amazon Prime and You Tube. The menu was easy to navigate and the machine was set up and running quite quickly using the remote control which for me was the right size and the controls was easy to use. Dolby Vision is on this machine this helps to deliver sharp and stunning pictures in vibrant colours with amazing details when using the 4k discs and with 4k media on the You-Tube channel. There is an option for Blu ray 3D as of now i have not been able to try. I love Dolby Atmos so i connected the machine to my sound bar to utilse this function, the sound was powerful, crystal clear with a rich deep bass which was delivered using the digital sound enhancement machine. The machine is great in design with just a little green light to show it is on and is quiet running.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Fantastic 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player!

UBP-X800M2 08/04/2019 by Dswag

I bought the Sony UBP-X800 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player after doing some research and reading some rave reviews. I also looked at a few other players before I decided on ordering it from Amazon. Compared to some other players the Sony is built like a tank! The build quality is fantastic, it feels strong, solid with some weight about it and feels like it’s going to last a long time! I tested it with my Samsung UE55JU6500K and watched The Martian extended edition 4K Ultra HD and was not disappointed! The Sony operates quickly and silently and the picture quality is fantastically detailed and crisp! It’s jaw-dropping in fact! For £279 it represents fantastic value for money! The build quality is amazing and the picture quality, sound, smooth & silent operation will not disappoint you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great player but lacks functionality

UBP-X800M2 07/15/2019 by AfonsoS

I bought the player last month and I’m quite happy with the result. However, it lacks the ability to add Apps and the setup menus are. It friendly at all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

14

0

Great 4K Blu Ray!

UBP-X800M2 06/21/2019 by anfield ace

Very happy with purchase! A great 4K Blu Ray Player, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Excellent multimedia player

UBP-X800M2 06/19/2019

I have the UBP-X800 3 weeks now, I am very happy with it. Why? - excellent picture AND sound quality on 4K Blu-ray content. - Built-in Netflix allows you to have Netflix on (not so smart) TV sets - Plays many formats, including SACD which for me was important - Built quality of the device itself. The only downside for me is that there is no display buit in. All information is viewed on the TV, which is normal for Blu-Ray, but not so for CD or SACD playback.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Great picture and sound

UBP-X800M2 06/07/2019 by Mr Wonderpants

Replacement for a previous Sony blu-ray (now doing service elsewhere). Excellent quality. Just need a 4k TV to do it justice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

3