55

4.2 based on 55 customer reviews

34
13
1
0
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 12/22/2015

Very impressed with this radio, the sound is superb, makes our other two DAB radios of similar dimensions sound pathetic. The Sony was easy to set up,have recommended this product to others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very disappointed

XDR-P1DBP 07/21/2018 by ird999

Spent a reasonable amount on a brand that I trusted. However very disappointed that the on-off switch has broken, rendering the radio useless, although all other features (other buttons, display, battery etc) are fine. Surprised to see this is a common problem with this model, but its still being sold.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

55 Customer Reviews

0

Pocket Radio

XDR-P1DBP 07/27/2020 by Twincam99

Very pleased so far but have only had it a week. My only concern is the much talked about weak on off switch so I am being very careful with it. The build is not as solid as a larger Sony DAB Radio that I have or a Roberts Pocket radio and for the price I think this is something Sony need to address.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact radio with great sound.

XDR-P1DBP 06/10/2020 by Shirley J

This is an excellent little radio, although I did have a couple of issues. I found that without picking up the radio and looking at the band change buttons on the top, I could not locate them by feel (which I wanted to do if listening in bed at night) I combatted this by sticking some small planner board dots on them. Also, I purchased it as it said it could be run on the mains as well as battery; however, the plug for doing so does not come with it. That said, I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact

XDR-P1DBP 05/08/2020 by Yungman

Easy set up, useful features and good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Compact and Portable

XDR-P1DBP 03/28/2020 by Ian B64

I bought this radio for my 75yr old mother and she is very satisfied with it. It is simple to use and a very compact size. Would have got 5 stars if reception was always 100%.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Didn't work

XDR-P1DBP 01/16/2020 by Waggy1

Bought this from Sony as I trusted the brand. The speaker didn't work so can't rate the ease of use and quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice and stable

XDR-P1DBP 12/23/2019 by Gargantua

Set up is easy and can be refreshed when you move to a different town or country. The radio has a flip down stand at the back which stops it falling over. The rechargeable battery works well from any USB source. Nice piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good size

XDR-P1DBP 11/11/2019 by Missym

Good sized radio works well.................. ....................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy as a dandy and great sound for the size.

XDR-P1DBP 10/29/2019 by Shaft69

Bought this primarily to use with headphones and because of the size and lack of wi-fi coverage in my bedroom for the radio on my phone. Has lived up to my expectations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy set up.

XDR-P1DBP 08/10/2019 by ozzy66

Only bought today but really easy to set up presets, volume level seems adequate, really neat little unit. Time will tell if as good as it at first seems.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great radio but poorly made.

XDR-P1DBP 07/10/2019 by Birdsunlimited

I bought two of these radios and both had a faulty on/off switch.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

4

0

Amazingly compact, functional high quality radio

XDR-P1DBP 05/19/2019 by IanCharlesB

Surprised at how well it is designed and manufactured and the sound is great too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super handy!

XDR-P1DBP 05/15/2019 by Fengyi

Handy, easy to carry, I was quite satisfied until the on/ off switch broke down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love my tiny radio

XDR-P1DBP 12/29/2018 by Ginger555

I bought a Sony pocket radio back in June it packs a really good powerful sound and is easy to use ,but unfortunately the on off button which I consider to be quite flimsy broke and I could not turn my new radio on or off So I returned it to lovely John Lewis who gave me a new one . I’m praying this one will last more than 6mths .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Compact and impressive but ...

XDR-P1DBP 12/13/2018 by Segdirb

I am baffled by the instructions which seem to me to be wholly inadequate. Even information on how to switch the radio off is lacking much less how to manage presets, time for the alarm function etc., etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Very Impressed Overall

XDR-P1DBP 11/02/2018 by sexy bear

Bought this in preparation for living off the grid. Particularly useful to me is the light weight and the USB charging which I shall be using off my solar panel / hydro turbine systems. Only disappointment is that the telescopic aerial weighs so much compared with how light the radio is, that when it's extended the radio can tip over unless the leg is extended. Could maybe the aerial be made of titanium in order to reduce this problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what was wanted

XDR-P1DBP 08/19/2018 by Rosiemg

Bought as a gift for my husband. Now uses it to while away sleepless nights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Software has bugs

XDR-P1DBP 07/28/2018 by Ar Kane

Casting is impaired. TV sees blackberry and vice versa but registration fails for mirroring.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Very disappointed

XDR-P1DBP 07/21/2018 by ird999

Spent a reasonable amount on a brand that I trusted. However very disappointed that the on-off switch has broken, rendering the radio useless, although all other features (other buttons, display, battery etc) are fine. Surprised to see this is a common problem with this model, but its still being sold.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

A good product made bad by poorly designed switch

XDR-P1DBP 05/09/2018 by Markx

Excellent sound and reception for a small radio. Built in rechargeable battery is very good.It is let down by an on/off switch that is not durable enough. This is the second of these radios I have purchased and the switch has broken on both. The design is clearly flawed, and I am not the only customer to have experienced this. Sony continue to insist all is well....it is a pity as I would certainly have bought another one if this was not the case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Don’t be put off by the size

XDR-P1DBP 04/21/2018 by Mo7777

A brilliant little radio with good quality sound and pleasing to the eye and touch.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 03/23/2018 by Dabbler998

Very happy and got a good price at John Lewis although still quite expensive. Surprised DAB hasn’t been more popular so much more reliable sound quality. I hear FM has been given a reprieve?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 01/22/2018 by Captain Bob

Had this as a Christmas present and really pleased with it. Very compact with excellent sound quality. Perfect for listening to the Test Matches whilst on the move

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Radio

XDR-P1DBP 01/18/2018 by meldab

This Sony radio is great on features and handy to take with you. Has FM DAB and DAB+ . It’s as I expected from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

As close to a perfect small radio as you can get

XDR-P1DBP 01/07/2018 by PaulTheOnlyOne

Had the radio a few weeks now. It picks up DAB in parts of my house where no other radio has worked. Volume is amazing for such a small speaker. Perfect for me to keep in touch with my favourite BBC Radio 4. For the next version Sony please add streaming then it will be completely perfect!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very useful radio

XDR-P1DBP 10/12/2017 by JJS50

Excellent radio which I have been using for a year now. Only disappointment is low volume when used with (Sonly) in-ear phones whereas volume from speaker is very good..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best small DAB Radio

XDR-P1DBP 04/16/2017 by How silly

Have had this Radio a couple of months now and can confirm other reviewers remarks. Excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Tiny radio - massive sound!

XDR-P1DBP 04/02/2017

Brilliant bit of kit. Fits in the palm of your hand but sounds like a machine much bigger in size. Quickly populates a large rang of DAB channels and is really easy to use. Can't wait for the start of the cricket season!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing pocket radio

XDR-P1DBP 02/13/2017 by Anthony g

I can't believe the quality of the sound from such a compact device. It's robust, with a long life battery, DAB & FM. Three stations on each band. I just wish it would accept a memory card, to play my music. Really good value for money, and amazing quality. It attracts comments from everyone who hears it. Big speaker sound from such a compact device. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Flimsy, awful power button simply doesn't work !

XDR-P1DBP 02/12/2017

I have purchased 2 (two) of these digital radios and neither of them work due to the flimsy start button which is very poor quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

11

0

Superb Quality

XDR-P1DBP 01/29/2017 by jc11

Had bought a cheapo brand of similar size four days earlier. It lacked sensitivity and then froze completely within 2 days. I returned it and bought the Sony. Definitely get what you pay for. This radio picks up DAB signals where others fail. It has really good sound quality - not the tinny sound one would expect from a radio this. The design is excellent as is the build quality. Controls are intuitive and I find having the '3 favourites' buttons on top of the radio, in addition to the presets, very useful. Really pleased with this radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Small but Perfectly Formed

XDR-P1DBP 01/11/2017 by Pooh1

This a tiny radio with astonishingly good sound and good sensitivity. Included is a high quality charging cable but no plug. Personally I would have liked the aerial to emerge a bit further so that it could be upright when the radio is lying on it's back. I am so glad to have found this lovely little radio when my old travelling Sony had nearly died after nearly 50 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Predominantly good.

XDR-P1DBP 01/10/2017 by Doddski

this is basically an extremely good pocket DAB radio, the only disappointment for me is that the earphone volume is somewhat low for those with less than perfect hearing. Sound quality is very good considering the size of the device, build quality is what one would hope for from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing tiny radio

XDR-P1DBP 01/09/2017 by CasperDel

I brought this radio to use when traveling in the UK. It has very good reception and works well on the train (as good as FM but with more stations)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great buy

XDR-P1DBP 01/05/2017 by Captain94

Received this as a Christmas gift and am very pleased with it. It is compact, easy to operate and has very good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!!!

XDR-P1DBP 01/05/2017 by June30

Absolutely thrilled with this radio, can't believe the sound quality that comes from such a tiny device!!! Wonderful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great little radio

XDR-P1DBP 11/26/2016 by Waterfall

The radio is well built and very powerful. It managed a return journey from Yorkshire to London by train with almost no loss of reception. Good sound quality from speaker at home and in hotel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Radio

XDR-P1DBP 10/24/2016 by JohnXRadiofan

It is a powepacked little DAB radio....I love it. Small yet a very good sound...easy to use with simple buttons for the varous actions required.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sooooooo neat!

XDR-P1DBP 08/07/2016 by vjbr

I've had this about 6 weeks. It's small, simple and it works. I'm using it at home and camping, where FM is poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

excellent pocket radio

XDR-P1DBP 08/01/2016 by foff

It is not easy to distinguish between competitive products online but the Sony turned out to be a first class choice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Small, crispy clear sound. Highly recommended

XDR-P1DBP 07/14/2016 by KCKhor

It's small and therefore extremely portable. Sound Is crisp and clear. Tuning is fast . And the battery lasts and lasts Simple to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Nothing compact can sound as good as this. YES

XDR-P1DBP 06/14/2016 by Grandadp

Just bought the radio for travelling holiday. It's so small and cute but performs like a full size radio. Brilliant buy!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Compact and Easy to Use

XDR-P1DBP 05/31/2016 by JonP248

I like this radio which replaced a much older but similar sized Sony product. As I expect most people use this for travel it would have been useful if it had an alarm function.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The Best

XDR-P1DBP 05/10/2016 by DemioDavid

I love my radio's, being a plumber with never the same 4 walls to work in but the same radio. I have tried many radio's in my time but this is the best ever. It sounds better than a lot of larger ones I have owned. Most importantly it is DAB+ that we have just started to use here in England along with most of the rest of Europe. A Battery charge lasts me 2 to 3 days with easy charge via a USB. So small just sits in a little pocket in my tool bag. The only thing that could make it better is Internet radio. But I never short of choice with DAB. I love the scroll selection display. You can see a lot of thought has gone into the design. Well Done Sony. Simply the best

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Compact, amazing sound

XDR-P1DBP 04/27/2016 by Buck61

This Sony compact radio is easy to use, truly portable and has incredible sound and volume for its size. Very pleased with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small and powerful

XDR-P1DBP 04/18/2016 by Me20161948

Purchased just over a week ago for my second home and the occasional trips out, this little radio pack real punch with excellent battery life and really good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0