RRP

€ 210.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
68

4.9 based on 68 customer reviews

59
9
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

69 Customer Reviews

0

Sound great.

SSCS5 09/22/2021 by Rbob7

Got these to replace the small front speakers that came with my Sony surround system. Huge difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best bang for your buck

SSCS5 08/11/2021

These loud speakers sound pretty good. They very well could be the best speakers at their price point (<$100). Their built is solid and have a good quality feel to them. With the use of some EQ, you make them sound better. I'm very happy with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

2nd purchase

SSCS5 08/09/2021 by Sonylover64

This is my second set of these speakers. Love them so much. The sound they produce is awesome. Would highly recommend these speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best budget bookshelf speaker to buy.

SSCS5 07/24/2021 by Galaxie500

Have had these speakers for about a month now. After initial break in, these speakers sound exceptional. Ad a subwoofer to a pair of these and you will be impressed. A pair of these are going to be your biggest bang for the buck. I am very happy with these fine but inexpensive speakers. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality products.

SSCS5 07/21/2021 by eman72

I bought these speakers a month ago with no problems.They sound great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Could work as a subwoofer - low end pretty good.

SSCS5 07/16/2021 by Tigerjay

Used to replace old Sanyo speakers - one which was blown out by my system. Sound is great, especially when using low end boost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small,compact and work quite well

SSCS5 07/02/2021 by Hay you

Small speakers that fill the room with good sound. Good value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great very happy!

SSCS5 06/05/2021 by JD47

Two months ago very happy!That is my review you don’t like it don’t post. It is hard for me to type this much.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice for my den system

SSCS5 05/03/2021 by RoryR

I purchased two pairs. One for use with my wife's compact SONY receiver and for me coupled to my Outlaw retro receiver 2150 and an MK 10" subwoofer. Previously I had a pair of Tannoy Proto J's and those were great, but the SONY's are fine for a home office system. Actually more efficient than the Tannoy's.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

3D Sound

SSCS5 04/20/2021 by Rams1074

I’m building my Home Theater set-up starting with with these speakers. Right now they are being used as my front stereo speakers. If you just need them for an office/bedroom/bathroom/garage setting, you can’t go wrong. The speakers have crossovers and in this price range it is absolutely unheard of, (pun intended). I especially appreciate that the port is located on the back (instead of the front) of the speaker, and that just means I needed to place them on a surface away from the wall instead of hanging the on the wall. The result is that of a ‘reflective 3D sound field’ that reproduces amazing depth and precision location of voice/instruments in the recording. By this purchase alone, I’ve been convinced of the quality of Sony Audio Products and am looking forward to the next step of my HT by obtaining the STRDH790 receiver and all the features that it offers, such as the virtual surround using these speakers, Bluetooth and DTS X, that uses location based sound decoding without the use of additional speakers (Dolby Atmos). Of course, to utilize this technology my current speakers will be repurposed to surround speakers when the purchase of new F/L/R & sub speakers are complete Looking forward to growing my system with Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superior Sony

SSCS5 03/25/2021 by TheTmac43

Oh boy these speaker were then next last to complete my home theater experience. Sony delivers TV, gaming, Bluray, and sound I love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely happy

SS-CS5 03/09/2021 by Rich678

I bought a pair last week and was so happy I bought another pair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I like these speakers, clean and crisp, but ?

SS-CS5 02/14/2021 by KathyinBuffaloNY

Love these, great especially for the price. What subwoofer should I buy for them?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker

SSCS5 01/10/2021 by pefarrell

These speakers have really helped my apartment living room with nice sound. I purchased a Sony woofer to go with them. Together the speakers are quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and value

SSCS5 01/03/2021 by jnguyen5820

After watching many review videos on these CS5 bookshelf speakers, I finally got the pair and fell in love with them. These alone paired with an amp or receiver beats any sub $800 sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound and look a fantastic

SSCS5 12/27/2020 by Bwcondonb

Bought a month ago and they have filled the house with awesome sound since.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great system

SSCS5 12/15/2020 by Clamer529

That’s why I bought 4 of them and receiver and will probably upgrade my turntable also

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great value, great sound.

SSCS5 12/14/2020 by busterben

Well worth the price of this speaker, great sound from a small enclosure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great set of bookshelf speakers

SSCS5 12/01/2020 by wa6ldtham

Took a while to decide on these speakers and read all of the negitive reveiws but they are unbelevable wrong. These speakers out of the box are very goood but with a little tweek of the base they become excelent. Could not have done better at the price paid ($78.95).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing bookshelf speaker

SSCS5 11/12/2020 by GJ2020N

Sound of SS-CS5 is more than decent for the price. Has impressive bass and mid, while treble feels little bit bright. Build quality is superb.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

SSCS5 11/10/2020 by The Master

Just bought these. Had considered 2 way polk audio's, a little cheaper. Glad I went with these 3 ways. Crisp and clear. Nice sounding bass. Ran these through my song list, I test all my equipment on. Passed with flying colors. I was pleasantly surprised, especially for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

5.1 Surround Rears

SS-CS5 08/26/2020 by robb15033

Purchased speakers to place as Rear surround speakers and sound great having settings maximize rear sound on ONKYO receiver.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Blended Well with Existing Components

SSCS5 08/20/2020 by 1Pop

I purchased the SS-CS5 speakers 3 weeks ago and they blended well acoustically with my existing system and aesthetically with my other speakers and my room decor. Although I considered returning the SS-CS5 speakers due to the impedance mismatch between them and my Sony DTR-DG820 A/V receiver, I am very happy to report no issues whatsoever. I placed these speakers on speaker stands and connected them as both surround and front speakers and they play well in either position. About 80% of the time these speakers are used for jazz and blues music listening.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Powerful little ones

SSCS5 08/07/2020 by Ed1226

I purchased a pair of this Sony Model bookshelf speaker and the sound was awesome! 3-way speakers really make a difference with great bass and treble.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really was skeptical about buying a small speaker

SSCS5 07/21/2020 by Jane10

But they surprised me in the sound Quality , I think they'll work out just fine . If your needing a punch in a speaker I think your be happy with these . The Bass surprised me in the size they are , was going to give close too three hundred for a pair of speakers and read the reviews on these and I thought I'd take a chance . I miss my big floor speakers , but didn't want those big things taking up space. These are sounding just great .....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good speakers, Great highs

SS-CS5 07/21/2020 by Petalmasher

For the two years I”ve had these speakers in my house I have had the chance to compare them directly with 4 other sets of speakers (Jamo C93 II, Elac Debut F5, Onkyo D-SX9A, Infinity Reference 2000.2) in both my living room and kitchen and using 4 very different amps. (Onkyo A-905tx, Elac EA101EQ-G, Cambridge CXA60, Fosi Audio BT20A) In other reviews I’ve watched and read it has been said that these speakers lack bass or the amount of bass is highly dependent on the amplifier. In my experience the bass in these speakers has behaved as well as one expects based on specs in comparison to other speakers. Compared to the 4-inch Onkyos, the Sonys put out a lot more bass. Compared to the Elac F5 or the Infinity 2002.2, the bass doesn’t go and less low, but it’s less impactful… it doesn’t thump you in the chest as hard, which is unsurprising for a 5-inch bookshelf speaker compared to a Floor stander with 3, 5-inch drivers or a bookshelf speaker with a 6.5 inch driver. The Sonys bass is every bit as tight and clean as its rivals. The Jamo does go a little lower but doesn’t hit any harder. Since I wasn’t there for the original recording, and I haven’t taken measurements I wouldn’t claim these are true to the source, or that the frequency response is flat, but the mid-range falls directly in between the Jamos, which have a comparatively recessed mid-range and the Elacs which are thick in the middle. The highs are undoubtedly the strong point of these speakers and the reason why I love them. The Jamos are the only ones that compare. They both provide plenty of detail and excellent imaging, but If I had to use one speaker to pick out fine details in track, I’d use the Sonys and if I had to place where the details were on the stage, I’d use the Jamos. These speakers are either more sensitive than Sony claims, or they are the only ones giving honest measurements for sensitivity. Compared to the Jamos, the Sonys are a bit louder with the volume at the same point despite the fact that they are both 6 ohm speakers and Jamo claims 88 db sensitivity and Sony claims 87. They are also a bit louder compared to the 8-ohm, 99 db infinities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Speakers

SS-CS5 07/15/2020 by Kydraiden

I bought this a month ago and I'm Glad I did. Speakers sound amazing and they fit perfect in my office.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Depth, Range, and Clarity! Excellent!!!

SS-CS5 06/07/2020 by BigCory

I purchased the Sony speakers from a link in the Sony site. They arrived quickly. My first impression was amazement at the build quality and clean design. Great feature is the dimension of the cabinet - not excessively deep as many manufacturers are doing. The perfect size. Onto the sound. I have these driven by a Sony STR-DH190 stereo receiver- a perfect match. The initial sound was a bit shallow, and I wasn’t impressed. But, as many audiophiles recommended, I gave them a two week break in (burn in) period. WOW! Once broken in the transformed into dynamic and spacious powerhouses with incredible detail and response. The upper range is crystal clear and nuanced, without being shrill like so many other brands have seemed to me. I hear details in music that I haven’t heard with other speaker. The bass and lower frequencies are precise, punchy, and accurate without any distortion. I can put a lot of power into these and the respond without breaking up or distorting- the simply are AMAZING!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

great sound

SSCS5 05/30/2020 by Dang2

I bought these speakers 10 days ago and very pleased with the sound. We needed some smaller speakers due to downsizing our home and these fit the need perfectly. They were on sale and priced right. We can't believe how good the sound is for the size and price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

perfect size

SSCS5 05/17/2020 by smuck

great sound. we love these speakers. these were a gift so i have no other purchase information.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality sound , very well built speakers

SSCS5 05/11/2020 by Mr Cast

Great speakers with quality sound. You would think music is coming from a bigger size speaker. Was very satisfied with the outcome of quality music and size of speakers. Look very well built. Very good appearance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SSCS5 04/16/2020 by JSL1975

Saw good reviews for these online, and the price was very reasonable, so I upgraded my old speakers, and these are as amazing as the reviews said.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic soundstage with great detail!

SSCS5 03/01/2020 by Joz7108

Great speaker for the price! Great inner detail with fantastic soundstage!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Speakers seem to work well with my equipment.

SSCS5 01/27/2020 by JLHarper

One of the speakers came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Could you send me a new front panel for the one that is torn? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Quality and Sound

SS-CS5 01/09/2020 by Mad Cow

I decided to go across the board and get a new stereo system. Got a Sony STR-DH190 receiver, 2 Sony SSCS5 speakers, 2 SSCS3 floor standing speakers, and a Audio Technica AT-LP120XUSB turn table. Wow, great quality sound and definition from FM, Phono, and audio input from TV. A lot of quality that will not break the bank. Instrument solos come thru bright and crisp. Bass well defined without being overpowering. Really brings out the quality that underlies old 70's LP's. Just a great setup. I link in my Apple Laptop and iPhone via Bluetooth to the Sony receiver. Though I have a preference for analog LP's, the digital via bluetooth is fantastic also. Highly recommend. A solid investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Good sound with my equipment.

SSCS5 01/05/2020 by jasl63

One speaker came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Can you send a replacement front panel? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Book shelf speakers

SSCS5 12/23/2019 by Ltcausret

I was very satisfied with the speakers. I will recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

nice speakers

SSCS5 12/16/2019 by Tony Yoga

I am very satisfied with these speakers, they fill the space nicely, I have 1,800 sq, ft, and was curious if these speaker would be enough, they do really well for my needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost there

SS-CS5 10/09/2019 by LennyM

A little over months ago I was looking for a second pair of speakers to go withy Polk Audio speakers. I was, and still am using the Sony Strdh190 100W Receiver and an Audio Technica 120xusb turntable. At that same time, I was due a birthday present. So, I received these Sony speakers. Prior to the purchase, I did a good bit of research looking for good performance at a nice price. I read more than a few reviews both professional and from the customer. Weighting all this information, I decided to go with these Sony speakers. To be sure, I had a few concerns. Three way speakers at this price point seemed like a bit of overreaching. And, as always with bookshelf type speakers I was worried a bout the smallish bass speaker. However, after my first listening, all my concerns were put to rest. These speakers provided good quality sound much in excess of what I expected. To be a little specific; the hifh end was superb. The presented music was clear, without a hint of cymbal breakup. The mus range was very strong as voices jumped out of these speakers. The low, bass end was very smooth without the often harsh, booming bass that smothers the rest of the music. I went in to play various genre in my vinyl collection: rock, classical, and pop. I played the records at different volumes. Finally, I pushed them pretty hard, listing for any problems. In all the sound was well presented without any noticeable distortion. The stereo imaging was good. Their construction is nice, if somewhat plane in appearance. The speakers were enclosed in with smooth, black, wood panels except for the face which was composed of what looks like a high impact plastic holding the three speakers. The grills are composed of black foam held in place by push in pegs. The port is located on the back panel just above the nice twist on wire posts. The speakers have the look and feel if high quality. These are very well made speakers. If I have any issues it’s with the low end. At times the bass seemed to need more push. This was not often and indeed for the most part went unnoticed. I think this issue might be exasperated by the rear facing port. However, this is not a deal breaker. All things considered, I believe these to be an excellent example of very good hifi at a bargain price. They sound so good I often listen to them without any other speakers. They could easily be your main speakers. A great buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Top Sony Qualität

SS-CS5 07/18/2019 by r_a_n_i

Hab die SS-CS5 Lautsprecher erst seit ein paar Tagen, bin aber jetzt schon total begeistert. Die Lautsprecher sind sehr gut verarbeitet und auch super einfach bei der Inbetriebnahme. Lautsprecher brauchen immer ein paar Stunden Betriebszeit bis diese ihre volle Leistung entfalten, aber für das Geld performen diese jetzt schon sehr gut. Die Lautsprecher habe ich an einen Sony HAP-S1 Mediaplayer mit HDD angeschlossen. An diesen ist auch der Sony HiRes Plattenspieler PS-HX500 angeschlossen für meine kleine LP Sammlung. Also ich kann diese nur empfehlen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

13

0

0

Excellent home theater speakers

SSCS5 06/27/2019 by stretch13579

These speakers plus the matching center channel speaker are the beginning of my HT 5.1 system . In addition I utilized an older Sony 10 subwoofer which provides great output. These speakers are highly recommended for a decent system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Sony SS-CS5 speakers

SSCS5 06/23/2019 by busterboy1956

I love them, I want another pair ! Great clear sound I don't know if you can get better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

They are good.

SSCS5 05/07/2019 by Krenshaw45

They're great for movies because they are clear, as far as dialogue goes. For music, you will need a bass speaker. The speakers aren't bass-less but, they don't have the lows that really brings music alive, or makes you feel the music. But for my use I needed clarity, and for that I am satisfied.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great sound at an affordable price!

SSCS5 04/24/2019 by Hunt247

I actually bought 4 of these to complete my 5.1 surround sound system and I couldn't be happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Speakers--for the price!

SSCS5 04/24/2019 by Hankxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I ordered these through Amazon(seems to be a way of life now), totally unsure of what quality I might be getting, but relied on past experience with Sony--all good so far in life. For the price these are outstanding. I wanted some way to have music while working out on my Total Gym in the basement and these FILL THE BILL!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME

SSCS5 04/06/2019 by EDHER

I NEVER EXPECT THE SOUND AND QUALITY OF SUCH SMALL SPEAKERS, CAN'T WAIT TO GET THE CENTER CHANNEL TO HAVE THE COMPLETE SERIES

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not even broken in already extraordinary!

SS-CS5 03/20/2019 by Alfonse

Could not believe reviews! I am truly amazed at the sound (comparing to very expensive Klipsch Forte and JBL L36). Will run these 24/7 for break in, the sound can only improve. Super absurd buy! Everyone can have great sound for an unbelievable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW

SS-CS5 12/23/2018 by Wolfsburg

Picked these up on sale right before Christmas to replace a rather flat sounding pair of speaker... I kept reading glowing reviews and thought there was no way they were that good, but for the price, I decided to find out. I could not be any happier that I chose to give the Sony's a chance! Currently they are hooked up to a Sony STR-1800 from the 70s (rated around 15wpc), and the sound they deliver is phenomenal! Tone dials are pretty much flat, and the bass is warm and accurate, with the highs being very pleasant and not at all harsh. Phenomenal product for the price! I did audition them on two other receivers I own, and they shined no matter what the source was when compared to my old speakers. In the end, I preferred the look to the old Sony so it will used until I find something I like better. If you are on the fence about these, get them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Really Satisfied

SSCS5 10/25/2018 by beesqueek

It's going on a month now that I've had these speakers and they're sounding better by the day! The quality honestly sounds breath taking, at least for the price.. i found them on sale too.. they fill my bedroom with sound easily , im using a denon s530bt receiver with them.. i plan on getting the sony 10'' sub in the future and hopefully the floor standing pair speakers but for now these will do !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Gorgeous! SSCS5's with SACS9 and STR-ZA3000ES.

SSCS5 07/08/2018 by Jonathan56

Recently bought two of these SSCS5 speakers to match on separately purchased stands with an SACS9 subwoofer I have enjoyed for three years and an STR-ZA3000ES (July, 2018). The STR-ZA3000ES has been replaced in the Sony ES lineup by the newer 3100ES, which includes Dolby Atmos, DTS-X, Ihiji, Phantom Surround Back, and other upgrade features. Cutting to the chase, the SSCS5 speakers are simply superb to my ears, and seem to work perfectly in the match with the Sony ES audio video receiver and my great old workhorse, my Sony Core Series subwoofer. I did endless research and auditions of many products and brands. I have read most of the reviews about the Core Series speakers and countless other speakers, many of them superb and possibly on my future shopping lists. The accolades for the SSCS5 are not hype, at all, in my humble opinion. Anyone interested in getting amazing stop-you-in-your-tracks sound out of reasonably affordable audio gear would be very wise to put these extremely capable and affordable bookshelf speakers on his or her short list to consider. One caveat I offer is that although the SSCS5 has fine, present, defined, clear, and punchy bass, adding a fine subwoofer such as the SACS9 can definitely help you feel better and get your bass on if you happen to be one of those "needs more cowbell" types. For reference, I just played Jethro Tull's remastered Thick As A Brick and also some of the best and most bass-demanding Led Zeppelin remastered tracks on CD's - up very loud (>100 db but not quite to pain threshold) with and without the Sony sub engaged. It all sounded satisfying with and without the subwoofer on, and I would have been perfectly happy to have kept listening without the sub; but I guess with a very nice (or naughty) subwoofer like that SACS9 just lying around with nothing else to do, I just wanted "a little more cowbell." I hope this helps. Cheers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

great looks and wounderful sound

SS-CS5 06/15/2018 by alfreme

I bought this set of speakers few months back and, i m very happy with the clarity of sound they produce.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent Speakers

SS-CS5 03/30/2018 by kamion4o

They are excellent as front high speakers. I use them from a day but I'm very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Great sound

SSCS5 03/27/2018 by kenneyboo

This is really a great speaker for the price. I use them for my tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great audio speaker fos action and scifi films

SS-CS5 03/12/2018 by 91 firebird

Well have over 30 pair of speakers,these Sony speakers with the super tweeter And the woofer design and a standard tweeter bring out sounds I never heard Before.for the money they can't be beat plus they look great with the grill off!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

WOW

SS-CS5 03/11/2018 by FENDER83

I AM A AUDIO VIDEO NUT OWN OVER 30 PAIRS OF SPEAKERS.HAVE THESE RUNNING AS THE FRONT SPEAKERS IN MY MOVIE ROOM.ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW !!!!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing audio

SS-CS5 03/10/2018 by raynbot

These went well beyond my old school expectations! So much music from such an efficient design. Resting on top of a oak media cabinet, these are about chest level and meant to transmit harmonics that can be felt. Skip the visuals and feel the acoustic magic. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound, powerful!&

SSCS5 01/20/2018 by Redevul

I very impressed with the quality of the sound produced from theses speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony-SS-CS5 bookself Speakers

SSCS5 12/09/2017 by Marie ll

i bought these speakers for my Husband on line last week for Christmas, he couldn't wait so i connected them today sound great. thank you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Outstanding Sony quality in a little package

SSCS5 11/24/2017

These are absolutely the best bookshelf speakers I could have found for the price. If you're like me and you like your audio to sound good but are on a budget and don't have much space, run, don't walk to pick up these wonderful speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great Sound!

SSCS5 01/25/2017 by John in SC

Bought them a month ago and I'm very happy with them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Grreat speakers

SSCS5 06/09/2015 by jab134500

As a past owner of AR3 and Heil speakers I am sp pleased with the mid to high freq. response of these speakers. Clarity and range are top notch.

17

1

0

SSCS5 05/31/2015 by Davey7

3

0

0

One Bedroom Apt. Sound Reinforcement. Best Ever!

SSCS5 01/30/2015 by pressanseal1

They together will put most to shame. They ROCK!!! I am positively pleased with the set. Nice sound every in my apt. Sony Rocks!

19

1

0

Awesome speaker

SSCS5 01/20/2015 by Solaris72

I'm using this surround back on a 7.2 setup. while my other speakers are energy, I'm hearing sound clearly. I wish i will use it as front speakers, but i have energy wall mounted.

8

1

0

Great speakers

SSCS5 01/08/2015 by Boricua

Great speakers for the money.

7

9

0

Great Bargain!

SSCS5 12/27/2014 by MarkWellman

I have owned many pairs of speakers over the years. These have super detail and balance. The midrange is top notch. The bass is OK, but for many a subwoofer would be necessary. These little gems plus my trusty Sony subwoofer make for some great listening. I am quite pleased with how they sound.

17

0

0

Unbelievable Wide Sound Stage For Tiny Speakers!

SSCS5 12/10/2014 by sandiegodom

In many ways the SS-CS5 reminds me of the vintage Baby Advents designed by the legendary Advent Corporation (founded by the even more legendary Henry Kloss). The Baby Advents had a big sound and decent bass response for their small footprint. While Sony has bragging rights for innovations on the electronic side of things they have been lauded quite a bit less on speaker design. The SS-CS5 are an impressive step forward. BUILD The solid, well built enclosure itself is an uninspiring rectangular box with what feels like a vinyl finish (although, according to Sony, underneath the finish is actual wood). Yes, they are inexpensive bookshelf speakers…but a wood finish feels so much more high-end in my opinion. The cloth grills are also rather standard and boring. Remove the grills though and you are looking at a very handsome face: the three drivers are quite attractive and when exposed give the set a much more contemporary feel. BASIC FEATURES & SETUP The cabinet is a three-way design featuring what Sony calls a ¾-inch super tweeter (output up to 50 kHz), 1-inch tweeter and 5-inch woofer (output down to 53 Hz). There is also a port directly behind the woofer. The port is an obvious necessity with a bass driver of this size. SOUND I connected the SS-CS5s to a two channel amp and fed it the optical output from my Apple TV. I used vocal tracks from Diane Schuur, Dire Straits as well as Lorde to evaluate the overall balance of the system. As usual with Sony speakers (and especially given the inclusion of the super tweeter) the high-end response was more than enough (too much). After making some adjustments with iTune's onboard EQ I was able to tame the highs and balance out the sound to where it was very listenable, clear and full. That last adjective is what I will talk about a bit more: full. In what on the surface looks like a simple three way design Sony has managed to create a speaker that with no active electronics creates a sound field that literally wraps around you. The sound is incredibly live and expansive with the vocals rock solid in the middle of the soundstage. Especially when listening to the Lorde tracks I kept looking to see if somehow my main system was on and powering the rear speakers! Placed on the floor and with a few EQ tweaks you can tease some pretty decent bass out of SS-CS5 (although I feel the bass is not tight as would be the case with a sealed design). They perform well with modern pop music (with it’s electronic rhythm section) and excel with jazz and classical. As there is a separate optional subwoofer you can add this to the set at a later date if you really want more on the low end. I also placed them on stands and was a bit less satisfied with the overall balance. I feel that these speakers will produce a more balanced sound when they can interact with the surfaces around them (e.g. the floor, wall, bookshelf or table). CONCLUSION As strictly bookshelf speakers, and with a little equalization applied, the system provides a balanced sound that should satisfy casual and even more discerning listeners. The expanded soundstage and articulate vocals though put it in a very different class. I can’t overemphasize how impressed I was with the width and depth of the soundstage created by these very unassuming little speakers. And they are dirt-cheap.

30

2

0

HEARING A DIFFERENCE

SSCS5 12/04/2014 by BeJay2

I’m not an audiophile or technophile; although I do appreciate good-sounding music. I was initially skeptical around “Hi-Res Audio” and whether adding Hi-Res components to my home audio equipment could justify the cost. Short answer: it’s definitely worth the price, in part because these new Hi-Res SS-CS5 Bookshelf speakers are surprisingly affordable for their quality. So, I recently added a Sony UDA-1/B USB DAC as the hub of my computer-based digital music system. This digital-to-analog converter/amplifier is meant to power a pair of quality bookshelf/desktop speakers or to drive high-end headphones. Naturally those devices need to be of sufficient quality before you can appreciate what your Hi-Res Audio amplifier will supply – hence my addition of a set of Sony’s SS-CS5 speakers (see photo below). These remarkable 6-ohm speakers are part of Sony’s new Core Series and these are a three-way design with a 5.1-inch foamed mica-reinforced woofer, a 1-inch polyester dome tweeter, and a 0.75-inch dome super tweeter that extends the high-frequency response up to 50KHz. There is a bass port and heavy-duty speaker wire connectors on the back panel of each 7x13.3x8.6 inch enclosure. The other three Core Series products are a floor-standing tower, a center-channel and a 10-inch subwoofer. Used all together, the Core Series speakers would form a 5.1 channel home theater configuration. I discovered that high-resolution audio really does sound better even to my over-60 ears, or should I say, especially with my compromised hearing. I read in reviews that the SS-CS5s had “superior detail and clarity.” I was anxious to put that to a test. As soon as I set up my UDA-1/B with a pair of these bookshelf speakers, my digital music files seemed to burst open with tone and texture. Over time I had forgotten how fine the original recordings ought to sound. And, the combination of the DAC with these particular speakers works nicely in both sound quality and level. At the 20 watts per channel that my DAC can output, these speakers will fill a good-sized room (see photo below). Specs aside, it’s all in the hearing. I particularly like to listen to cello solos and cello with full orchestra. It was a revelation to hear pieces that I am very familiar with sounding so clear and, well, exciting! I’ve only had the SS-CS5s for a short time and already find I am listening more often and enjoying what I can hear now. The very first track I played, YoYo Ma playing the first movement of Elgar’s Cello Concerto (Chicago Symphony), convinced me. But you’ll need to hear your own music through them to agree. Curious now, I decided to throw additional tracks at the SS-CS5s to see how they handle different musical situations. First, the second movement of Charles Ives’ Symphony No. 4 (Chicago Symphony) where the music builds to several riotous climaxes – I could hear detail and separation that surprised me given the complexity of Ives’ compositions and the small footprint that the SS-CS5s have. Next I switched genres to a live digital recording of T-Bone Walker’s “Stormy Monday” by Hummingbird (a band from Connecticut’s Northwest Corner that plays an eclectic blend of blues, jazz, and country). It pleased me to recognize the acoustic ambiance of Miranda Vineyard’s club-like tasting room behind Bobbi Soares’ melodic, jazz-influenced voice – nicely resolved by the DAC and voiced by the SS-CS5s. To represent another chunk of my listening time, I wanted to try a close mic’d track without instrumental distraction. I chose the title track of singer-songwriter Shane Faubert’s new “Line in the Sand” album on the French Bam Balam label. It’s a non-compressed Folk/Pop recording with a lot of air around his smooth, buttery-voiced and intimate vocals. Again, the SS-CS5s performed with a presence that felt as if the artist was in the room with me. Very nice, indeed. For convenience, I have been using the source configuration in the accompanying photograph. That’s my Xperia Tablet Z attached to my Sony DAC’s front-panel USB port and playing tracks from their Walkman app. I am also a MacBook Pro user. So, to listen to digital music that lives on my laptop I downloaded and installed a free app called Hi-Res Audio Player and a driver named SONY USB DAC Amp Driver (Mac). The Player launches from the OSX 10.9.5 Desktop, finds Sony’s UDA-1/B, and presents a straight-forward playlist interface, see screenshot below. There is also iTunes…. Like most of Sony’s home audio products, the SS-CS5s have a clean design that is quite compact. Of course, you will need to supply speaker wiring (don’t skimp) and sound sources like mine that have the ability to provide the fine Hi-Res Audio this speaker system is capable of delivering. For my listening taste there is more than enough bass, eliminating any thought to add a sub woofer. I am more than satisfied with my SS-CS5s. I can recommend this Hi-Res Audio speaker system without hesitation – you’ll get a lot of enjoyment from them.

27

2

0

Great value

SSCS5 09/28/2014 by Belenbaa

These speakers were recommended to us by store salesman who said I could return them if not satisfied. I was skeptical that speakers in this price range would be good enough. I have been very pleased. They sound better than my other much more expensive top brand speakers in my living room.

36

3